There are basic steps to follow in order to do effective research and write a well-researched paper.
1. Choose a topic. Find some background information on your topic. Encyclopedias and handbooks are a good starting point. Most encyclopedias will include a topical outline which helps you identify all the important aspects of your topic.
2. Create a Search Strategy. A simple search strategy often consists of the following steps:
Formulate a research question.
Identify important concepts or ideas within that question.
Identify key words or terms that describe the concepts or ideas that you wish to progress.
Consider synonyms, acronyms, and variations of the terms you just identified.
3. Find information. Search the Library Catalogue for books, videos, and DVDs. For the most current information on your topic, search the Library article databases.
4. Make notes as you go along. Write all the relevant information of your sources. You will need this information for your references that you attach to your paper.
5. Write your report. Write a draft, and be sure to (or ask a friend) proofread before you hand in your report. If you need help on how to make notes and proofreading, please ask for help at the service desk in The Commons.
A number of citation styles are used at Lakeland College, including APA, MLA, and Chicago. Be sure to check with your instructor as to which citation style you should use for your assignments.
What is a citation? Why should I cite?
A citation provides all the information a reader needs to find the information you referenced. A citation should supply enough detail to be able to identify the item. Citing is an acknowledgement of the use of another person’s ideas. Consider citing as a form of intellectual honesty.
Are there different citation formats?
Many academic disciplines / programs have their own citation style. The most commonly used styles at Lakeland College are APA (American Psychological Association), MLA (Modern Languages Association), and The Chicago Manual of Style. Please follow your instructors’ instructions about citation.
Are there automated citation generator tools that I can use?
There are many citation generator tools available online, and most of the electronic databases will also format your citations for you in whatever citation style you specify. But, use the database-generated citation results with caution. Always check your citations against the standard citation style manual.
Contact the library if you have questions.
Note: It is no longer necessary to specify the database name or retrieval date in your citation as long as the article has a DOI (Digital Object Identifier).
The DOI of an object is a permanent identifier that makes it possible to locate the object even if the web site address changes. In those instances, the user will be re-directed to the new location. A DOI identifies an object, not where the object is located.
Where a DOI is available:
Include the DOI instead of the web site address.
If no DOI is assigned, provide the home page web site address, also known as the URL (Uniform Resource Locator, previously known as Universal Resource Locator). A URL is the unique address for a file that is accessible on the internet. A common way to get to a web site is to enter the URL of its home page file in your web browser's address line.