Locating Evidence in the Agricultural Sciences

Boolean operators are the words that we use when connecting two or more keywords in database searches. They include: 

AND: Use AND between keywords when you want your results to include ALL keywords (e.g., "Kale AND "swiss chard" AND spinach)

OR: Use OR between keywords when you want your results to include ANY of the keywords (e.g., "blueberry OR raspberry OR blackberry")

NOT: Use NOT to exclude keyword(s) from your search (e.g., Kale NOT "swiss chard")

"   " : Use quotations around a phrase of two or more words (e.g., "swiss chard")

*     : Use the asterix to find all alternative endings of a root word, including its singular and plural endings (e.g. raspberr* will return raspberries, raspberry and raspberried)

Here are the top, scholarly databases in this subject area. 

There are several ways to access the full text of the article:

• When searching a database, look for PDF or HTML Full Text links under the article publication details within the search results list. Sometimes there is a link that says Full Text Finder and this link should take you to the full text of the article. 
• If you have citations for specific articles: check the Library Catalogue to see if we subscribe to the journals that contain the articles. Do a Title search and limit by Institution (choose Lakeland College). The Catalogue will show whether or not we have access to the electronic version and/or the print version.
• If we don't have it, we can get it for you in a few days! Request articles via Interlibrary Loan.

If you are unable to locate the full text of an article, librarians are here to help you - so please contact us with any questions!