The APA Citation Style is used for all courses in the Human Services program.
For a quick explanation of APA rules that includes a few examples we recommend: APA Citation Style QuickGuide, produced by our colleagues at Augustana College Library.
Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL) is an extensive site covering general and academic writing, the mechanics of writing, punctuation, grammar, research, citation and more.
Need a bit more than the basics? Check the APA Style Website or consult the following publications found in the Library Reference Collection:
What is a citation? Why should I cite?
A citation provides all the information a reader needs to find the information you referenced. A citation should supply sufficient detail to be able to identify the item. Citing is an acknowledgement of the use of another person’s ideas. Consider citing as a form of intellectual honesty.
Citation Styles/Format Examples
There are many citation styles but the most commonly used styles are APA (American Psychological Association), MLA (Modern Languages Association), and The Chicago Manual. The standard format is very similar in all the guides but there are differences as well. Please follow your instructors’ instructions at all times.
Citation Generator Tools
Most of the electronic databases will also format your citations for you in whatever citation style you specify. Use the database-generated citation results with caution. Always check your citations against the standard citation style manual.
There are basic steps to follow in order to do effective research and write a well-researched paper.
1. Choose a topic. Find some background information on your topic. Encyclopedias and handbooks are a good starting point. Most encyclopedias will include a topical outline which helps you identify all the important aspects of your topic.
2. Create a Search Strategy. A simple search strategy often consists of the following steps:
Formulate a research question.
Identify important concepts or ideas within that question.
Identify key words or terms that describe the concepts or ideas that you wish to progress.
Consider synonyms, acronyms, and variations of the terms you just identified.
3. Find information. Search the Library Catalogue for books, videos, and DVDs. For the most current information on your topic, search the Library article databases.
4. Make notes as you go along. Write all the relevant information of your sources. You will need this information for your references that you attach to your paper.
5. Write your report. Write a draft, and be sure to (or ask a friend) proofread before you hand in your report. If you need help on how to make notes and proofreading, please ask for help at the service desk in The Commons.