Encyclopedias and other reference books will:
• Give you brief facts about your topic.
• Give you a general understanding of your topic.
• Highlight the important things about your topic.
• Help you put your topic into context.
• Provide you with extra sources of information (look at the references for links to scientific articles)
NOTE: You need to log in using your library barcode and PIN in order to access the e-books if you are off-campus. The following titles are a small sample of available resources. To find more resources, search the Library catalogue.
The SAGE Glossary of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by
The SAGE Glossary of the Social and Behavioral Sciences provides college and university students with a highly accessible, curriculum-driven reference work, both in print and on-line, defining the major terms needed to achieve fluency in the social and behavioral sciences. Comprehensive and inclusive, its interdisciplinary scope covers such varied fields as anthropology, communication and media studies, criminal justice, economics, education, geography, human services, management, political science, psychology, and sociology. In addition, while not a discipline, methodology is at the core of these fields and thus receives due and equal consideration.
Handbook of Life-Span Development by
The doubling of our average life span since the turn of the 20th century is considered by many scholars to be one of the most important changes in human existence. This definitive text is the only volume to fully address, through a multidisciplinary perspective, the biological, cognitive, and psychological development that occurs from infancy through old age, and how the sociocultural and institutional factors interface with these changes. Edited by leading research scholars in the field of life-span development, the volume also includes contributions of specialists in behavioral genetics, socioemotional selectivity theory, neuroscience, ecological models, and more. It examines the dynamics of close relationships and informal ties among the elderly population, child-parent attachment relationships as a life-span phenomenon, developmental tasks across the lifespan, continuity and discontinuity in temperament and personality, the sociocultural context of cognition across the life span, and variability in approaches to social problem solving from early to later life. Given the number of recent demographic shifts, it also explores issues related to fertility, life expectancy, environmental contexts, technology, immigration, and public policy. Key Features: .: Integrates the full life span from infancy through old age in each chapter; Considers multidisciplinary perspectives that address personal relationships, cognitive development, and social, emotional, and physical health across the life span; Situates life-span development in ecological contexts (e.g., socioeconomic, neighborhood, and immigration status); Provides a concise but thorough resource for graduate seminars in life-span-related studies; Highlights future issues in all areas of life-span study.;. The doubling of our average life span since the turn of the 20th century is considered by many scholars to be one of the most important changes in human existence. This definitive text is the only volume to fully address, through a multidisciplinary perspective, the biological, cognitive, and psychological development that occurs from infancy through old age, and how the sociocultural and institutional factors interface with these changes. Edited by leading research scholars in the field of life-span development, the volume also includes contributions of specialists in behavioral genetics, socioemotional selectivity theory, neuroscience, ecological models, and more. It examines the dynamics of close relationships and informal ties among the elderly population, child-parent attachment relationships as a life-span phenomenon, developmental tasks across the lifespan, continuity and discontinuity in temperament and personality, the sociocultural context of cognition across the life span, and variability in approaches to social problem solving from early to later life. Given the number of recent demographic shifts, it also explores issues related to fertility, life expectancy, environmental contexts, technology, immigration, and public policy. Key Features: .: Integrates the full life span from infancy through old age in each chapter; Considers multidisciplinary perspectives that address personal relationships, cognitive development, and social, emotional, and physical health across the life span; Situates life-span development in ecological contexts (e.g., socioeconomic, neighborhood, and immigration status); Provides a concise but thorough resource for graduate seminars in life-span-related studies; Highlights future issues in all areas of life-span study;1. Overview of lifespan development. PART I: Theory. 2. Control and agency in development. 3. Behavioral genetics. 4. Attachment theory. 5. Life Course. 6. Selection, Optimization, and Compensation. 7. Socioemotional selectivity theory. 8. Convoy model. 9. Ecological Models. 10. Developmental trajectories: Stability and Change. PART II: Physical and Cognitive Development. 11. Early precursors of later health. 12. Brain developm
APA Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology by
This four-volume handbook summarizes the current state of knowledge on major topics within the fields of personality and social psychology.
A Dictionary of Psychology by
Including more than 11,000 definitions, this authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills,language, mental disorder, and research methods. The range of entries extends to related disciplines including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics.
NOTE: If you are studying off-campus, you need to log in using your library barcode and PIN in order to access this resource.
Wikipedia is NOT considered an appropriate or a credible source for academic research. The credibility of the information is questionable because anyone can edit the information in Wikipedia.
Wikipedia, is however a source that you can use (with caution);
